Mosquito (or Musquito) County is the name of one of the earliest counties that used to make up Florida. The mega-county was comprised of Volusia, Brevard, St. Lucie, Lake, Indian River, Martin, Seminole, Polk, Palm Beach and Orange counties.

Los Musquitos were progressively cut into smaller and smaller pieces, starting when Andrew Jackson divided the area into two separate counties, along the Suwannee River; Escambia and St. Johns County.



Brendan O'Connor

Editor in Chief of

Join the Conversation


Have something to say? Type it below. Holding back can give you pimples.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.