The Randall R. Tuten Orlando Fire Museum (Website) is one of Orlando’s true hidden gems.
Tucked away behind Orlando Shakes in Loch Haven Park, the museum houses history and memorabilia from the Orlando Fire Department, including a restored 1926 American LaFrance fire engine. The building was built in 1926 and moved from Orange Avenue to its current home at 814 E. Rollins Street [GMap]. It was renamed in June 2016 to honor the service of Randall Ray Tuten who served in the fire department and very involved in Orlando Fire Department outreach and programming at the museum.
The museum is staffed almost entirely by active and retired Orlando firefighters and is currently open on Fridays and Saturdays from 10 a.m.-4 p.m. but they are asking that the public call ahead to ensure they’re open before they visit. Social distancing and COVID-19 safety protocols are in place as well.
Parking is available in the general Loch Haven Museum parking lot and you can gain entrance from the rear of the building on Rollins Street or by cutting through the main lobby of Orlando Shakes during operating hours.
The museum is free to visit but donations are always welcome and help with operations.