Home Sponsored GREAT READS: Orange County Public Library’s October book selections

GREAT READS: Orange County Public Library’s October book selections

-

SPONSORED: “Great Reads” is a regular roundup of books that the Orange County Public Library System thinks you should peruse that month.

If you’re planning a visit to one of our locations, you might consider contactless checkout. Download the CloudLibrary app from your favorite app store, use your phone to scan the book and check it out, then stop by the desensitizer located near the entrance. This option is convenient and offers step toward safety.

Maybe you’ll use CloudLibrary to check out one of these books, selected by library staff for Bungalower readers.

THIS MONTH’S GREAT READS

ONCE & FUTURE, VOL. 1
BY KIERON GILLEN AND DAN MORA

CLICK IMAGE TO HAVE THE BOOK DELIVERED TO YOUR HOME, FOR FREE!

Comic book fan favorites Kieron Gillen and Dan Mora team up to bring the legend of King Arthur back to life, but not how you would expect! When King Arthur returns to England to take back the country he sees as rightfully his, it is up to Duncan, an aloof museum employee, and his retired grandmother to stop the evil horde from taking over everyone and everything they know.

THE ANCESTOR
BY DANIELLE TRUSSONI

CLICK IMAGE TO HAVE THE BOOK DELIVERED TO YOUR HOME, FOR FREE!

Turns out Bert, Alberta Monte, is a long-lost heir to the Montebianco Estate. Sure she’s hesitant, who wouldn’t be a little skeptical? But, like many of us, she quiets her instincts and allows herself to be swayed by wealth and influence. Alberta and her estranged husband are soon whisked away to the Italian Alps via private plane. It’s on these isolated, ancestral, grounds Alberta begins to stumble over family skeletons and encounter all manner of surprising truths about her true lineage.

THE BAKESHOP AT PUMPKIN AND SPICE
BY DONNA KAUFFMAN, KATE ANGELL, & ALLYSON CHARLES

CLICK IMAGE TO HAVE THE BOOK DELIVERED TO YOUR HOME, FOR FREE!

Celebrate Pumpkin Spice Season in Moonbright, Maine with this atmospheric anthology. This collection of romances is filled with just the right amount of cozy, more than a little magic, and sweet treat recipes.

THIS IS MY AMERICA
BY KIM JOHNSON

CLICK IMAGE TO HAVE THE BOOK DELIVERED TO YOUR HOME, FOR FREE!

An incredible debut novel about racial injustice. Tracy has been writing Innocence X to get legal representation for her dad, who was wrongly convicted. When her brother gets caught up in a similar situation, Tracy investigates on her own and uncovers her town’s dark hidden secrets. Perfect for fans of Dear Martin and Just Mercy.

EVEN IF WE BREAK
BY MARIEKE NIJKAMP

CLICK IMAGE TO HAVE THE BOOK DELIVERED TO YOUR HOME, FOR FREE!

A dark twisted thriller perfect for fans of horror movies. Five teens arrive at a cabin to play a murder mystery game. Their adventure turns into a nightmare when one of them disappears. The rest have to work together but when secrets and their inner demons are exposed things become complicated. Will they be able to trust each other to escape?

VESPER FLIGHTS
BY HELEN MACDONALD

CLICK IMAGE TO HAVE THE BOOK DELIVERED TO YOUR HOME, FOR FREE!

Nature lover and author Macdonald follows up her widely successful H Is for Hawk with Vesper Flights, a collection of essays about what it means to be human in a world full of natural wonder. Over the course of more than forty essays, Macdonald gives the reader many wondrous insights into the behavior of animals, and how we can learn to help them and live better alongside them.

Got your card? Orange County Library System services are free to Orange County residents. Sign up at any library location or visit ocls.info/getyourcard.

Become a Bungalower Buddy

Our award-winning local news website stays in business because of readers, like you. Support us by becoming a Bungalower Buddy today.

Have something to say? Type it below. Holding back can give you pimples.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

SPONSORED: “Great Reads” is a regular roundup of books that the Orange County Public Library System thinks you should peruse that month.

If you’re planning a visit to one of our locations, you might consider contactless checkout. Download the CloudLibrary app from your favorite app store, use your phone to scan the book and check it out, then stop by the desensitizer located near the entrance. This option is convenient and offers step toward safety.

Maybe you’ll use CloudLibrary to check out one of these books, selected by library staff for Bungalower readers.

THIS MONTH’S GREAT READS

ONCE & FUTURE, VOL. 1
BY KIERON GILLEN AND DAN MORA

CLICK IMAGE TO HAVE THE BOOK DELIVERED TO YOUR HOME, FOR FREE!

Comic book fan favorites Kieron Gillen and Dan Mora team up to bring the legend of King Arthur back to life, but not how you would expect! When King Arthur returns to England to take back the country he sees as rightfully his, it is up to Duncan, an aloof museum employee, and his retired grandmother to stop the evil horde from taking over everyone and everything they know.

THE ANCESTOR
BY DANIELLE TRUSSONI

CLICK IMAGE TO HAVE THE BOOK DELIVERED TO YOUR HOME, FOR FREE!

Turns out Bert, Alberta Monte, is a long-lost heir to the Montebianco Estate. Sure she’s hesitant, who wouldn’t be a little skeptical? But, like many of us, she quiets her instincts and allows herself to be swayed by wealth and influence. Alberta and her estranged husband are soon whisked away to the Italian Alps via private plane. It’s on these isolated, ancestral, grounds Alberta begins to stumble over family skeletons and encounter all manner of surprising truths about her true lineage.

THE BAKESHOP AT PUMPKIN AND SPICE
BY DONNA KAUFFMAN, KATE ANGELL, & ALLYSON CHARLES

CLICK IMAGE TO HAVE THE BOOK DELIVERED TO YOUR HOME, FOR FREE!

Celebrate Pumpkin Spice Season in Moonbright, Maine with this atmospheric anthology. This collection of romances is filled with just the right amount of cozy, more than a little magic, and sweet treat recipes.

THIS IS MY AMERICA
BY KIM JOHNSON

CLICK IMAGE TO HAVE THE BOOK DELIVERED TO YOUR HOME, FOR FREE!

An incredible debut novel about racial injustice. Tracy has been writing Innocence X to get legal representation for her dad, who was wrongly convicted. When her brother gets caught up in a similar situation, Tracy investigates on her own and uncovers her town’s dark hidden secrets. Perfect for fans of Dear Martin and Just Mercy.

EVEN IF WE BREAK
BY MARIEKE NIJKAMP

CLICK IMAGE TO HAVE THE BOOK DELIVERED TO YOUR HOME, FOR FREE!

A dark twisted thriller perfect for fans of horror movies. Five teens arrive at a cabin to play a murder mystery game. Their adventure turns into a nightmare when one of them disappears. The rest have to work together but when secrets and their inner demons are exposed things become complicated. Will they be able to trust each other to escape?

VESPER FLIGHTS
BY HELEN MACDONALD

CLICK IMAGE TO HAVE THE BOOK DELIVERED TO YOUR HOME, FOR FREE!

Nature lover and author Macdonald follows up her widely successful H Is for Hawk with Vesper Flights, a collection of essays about what it means to be human in a world full of natural wonder. Over the course of more than forty essays, Macdonald gives the reader many wondrous insights into the behavior of animals, and how we can learn to help them and live better alongside them.

Got your card? Orange County Library System services are free to Orange County residents. Sign up at any library location or visit ocls.info/getyourcard.