The XFL (Website), an American professional football minor league, is coming to Orlando.

The league will consist of eight teams with seasons running from February to April each year, with a ten-game regular season for each team, ahead of a playoff, and the naming of a seasonal champion. Games will be broadcast by ESPN.

Orlando’s unnamed team will be coached by Terrell Buckley, who comes to the gig following coaching at the University of Mississippi and himself a former NFL player and Super Bowl champion.

Participating cities and venues include:

  • Arlington, Texas – Choctaw Stadium
  • Houston, Texas – TDECU Stadium
  • Las Vegas, Nevada – (TBA)
  • Orlando, Florida – Camping World Stadium
  • San Antonio, Texas – The Alamodome
  • Seattle, Washington – Lumen Field
  • St. Lous, Missouri – The Dome
  • Washington D.C. – Audi Field

League ownership also includes Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson and RedBird Capital Partners.

“We’ve had a clear vision for the XFL – the values to instill, the diversity of our leaders, the innovation of the game, and how we want to deeply engage with our communities so they can help bring this vision to life. Today, our league takes another step closer to 2023 kickoff as we officially announce where our teams will play,” said Dany Garcia, Chairwoman and co-owner. “What brings a league to life is the passion of the fandom behind it. In each of these cities, we will co-create with our fans and build these teams from the ground up so that they represent the unique fabric of our communities. We welcome all football fans to join us as we get ready for kickoff in February.”

The XFL is scheduled to kick off on February 18, 2023.

Brendan O'Connor

Editor in Chief of

Leave a comment

Have something to say? Type it below. Holding back can give you pimples.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.